Father’s Day was Sunday, This Ones For Dad


Father’s day came and went this Sunday.  It was a great day for me and I am truly blessed.  I am a father and my eldest had us over for a cook out.  He honored me with the largest steak I have ever seen.  My grandson was there and we got to visit for a long time.  It was a great day.

I lost my father some years back.  I am an orphan now.  Mom and Dad I miss you both so much.  If you still have your parents, I hope you got to visit them Sunday.  One day, they will be gone.  It will be too late for all the things you wanted to say to them and never did.  All the questions you wanted answers to will remain a mystery once they are gone.  In todays fast paced electronic world with instant messaging and email, twitter and smart phones, Facebook and yes, blogs, it is easy to forget real-time is spent sitting down with someone and having a cup of coffee or a beer.  Visiting is paying a visit.

So, on my first post since I got my system up and running again, and since Father’s day was just past; I want to remember my Dad and make a small place in this electronic world for him.Click photo to enlarge.

I was the youngest one of 4 boys.  I was a surprise package for my parents.  I wonder what they were thinking when I came along.  My mother was 39 years old when I was born.  That is the way my Mom alway put it, “Their little surprise package.”

My Father worked two jobs his whole life providing for his family.  He was a great father.  This black and white photo was taken when I was 17 and we walked together back into the wooded park behind our house.  Dad was a great nature lover.  He put bird houses out in the trees in the back yard.  He loved taking walks in the woods.  He taught me to catch and throw a baseball.  He always had time to listen to me even if he was tired.  I really don’t know how he did it.  I tried to work a second job once.  After a few weeks I just couldn’t do it any more.  He did it for 30 years!

Now my father lays next to my mother and my brother who both preceded him.  My mother used to say, “If George don’t go to heaven there is no heaven.”  I know she was right.  He was a good man.


This photo was taken a few years before the lord called him home.  We went out to the grave yard together on a beautiful Mother’s Day to decorate the graves.  Dad had forgotten something back at the car and so I ran back to get it.  When I returned, there he sat reflecting and I took this picture.

I haven’t forgotten you father.  I will always love you and I miss you very much.  This one is for you, Dad.  Happy Father’s Day.

Comments are closed.