The Broken Thanksgiving Day Table


by Mark Schrull

11/24/12 Lorain, Ohio –
I have something special to be thankful for this 2012 Thanksgiving holiday.  My wife and I were preparing the house for the feast.  The turkey was

stuffed and in the oven.  The green bean casserole was in there as well and the potatoes were in the pot on the stove, cover with water, waiting to be boiled.  Extra stuffing was awaiting the oven as were the brown to serve rolls.  All my ducks, or in this case, my turkeys were in a row.  It was about 2 hours before our guests would arrive and the good china was sitting on the kitchen counter top waiting to be set in place for each guest.

Suddenly, the unthinkable happened.  As I was putting the expansion leaf in place, the whole table broke in half and collapsed.  Oh no, I thought, this can’t be happening!  This was not some cheap table.  This was my mother and father’s table that I inherited after Dad passed away.

As I inspected the broken pieces, I discovered the screws and bolts which held the table together had pulled completely out from underneath the table top.  This was a disaster, the table could not be mended quickly.  It would have to be hauled to the garage and repaired sometime in the future with new bolts, screws, and glue.

What am I going to do?  Not to mention the sentimental value of the table itself, but where are my guests and family going to eat.  How can we have a traditional turkey dinner when there is no table to sit around.  Are we to stand and eat?  Gather around the counter tops of the kitchen and eat?  Split up and take plates about the house in different rooms eating separately?  All these thoughts went through my head.

As I carried the broken table out to the garage in 3 trips, feeling angry and sorry for myself, I remembered we had this really cool table which my Aunt Ruth had long ago given my brother Jack. (God rest their souls.)  It was currently being used to hold a TV in our home.  The neat thing about this table – when not expanded, it takes up very little room.  However, when expanded to its full size, the table makes a very fine dinning room table.  I put the table into service and our dinner went on with out a hitch.

As we sat around the table later that day, eating pie and laughing, it occurred to me that what I thought was a disaster was really a blessing in disguise.  The table had broken at the perfect time.  No dishes were on it.  No one was sitting at the table.  And no one thankfully got hurt.  The table could have broken right in the middle of dinner.  The turkey and dishes could lay broken and smashed in the middle of the floor along with the rest of the meal.  People might have been scalded with hot food or coffee. Maybe even a child as there were many of our Grandchildren and other guests children present.

So, besides all of the things I was and am thankful for this holiday season. Things like my and my families’ health, the roof over our head and the floor under our feet; and of course the food which made up our great feast, I am thankful God, or Jesus, or the guardian angel they sent to look after my family and I – protected us.  I am grateful the table broke when it did.

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving.

Image Credit:

The drawing of the broken table was found by doing a Google search of “broken table” images at the website:
 www.jesseharding.com

The direct link to the drawing is:
http://www.jesseharding.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/06/pronoun_1ah.gif

Comments are closed.