The End Draws Near


by Mark Schrull 12/30/12 Lorain, Ohio – Yes, yes, no… not the end of the world.  The end of the year.  Oh those silly Mayans.  Oh those foolish people who believed the world was going to end on December 21st.  I can honestly say I never believed it would.
Time CR
That’s not to say, however, that I did not engage in interesting conversations about the Mayan prediction during 2012.  Sometimes serious, most times funny.  My son’s theory was the Mayan worker who was assigned the endless task of chiseling dates into rock decided he was tired and just quit when he finished chiseling Dec 21st.

Another person  (I’ll leave them anonymous)  told me it was going to be the first time in the history of the universe all the major planets and stars and moons of any substance were going to be in a straight line, and the result of such an alignment would amplify each celestial body’s gravitational pull to the point it would pull the earth out of orbit and we would all go flying into outer space.  Wow! A simple web search put that theory to bed.

I like what my favorite poet, Robert Frost, said about the end of the world:

Fire and Ice  – by Robert Frost
Some say the world will end in fire,
Some say ice.
From what I’ve tasted of desire
I hold with those who favor fire.
But if I had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To say that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.
http://www.poemhunter.com/poem/fire-and-ice/

Being a Christian, I believe the world will end some day, but only God knows when that will happen.  I have one question though for any person, or any group of people who say they know when it will happen….
What is the lottery number going to be tomorrow?

Comments are closed.