Falcon Sighted 6-3-2013 Day’s Dam Lorain Ohio


by Mark Schrull

6/3/2013 Lorain, Ohio – For the past two days, Rhonda and I have seen a Falcon on the prowl, jumping from tree to tree in Lorain County Metro Park, Day’s Dam.  On both occasions he was being chased by a group of black birds and starlings obviously defending their nest against this predator bird.

By checking search engine images, I believe him to be an adult male. My photographs are poor as he didn’t sit still for long.  The defending birds chased him into this group of trees.  I can’t find him hidden in there, but I did find one of the defending birds that chased him in and circled him in this photo.

I can't seem to find the Falcon in this photo, but I circled a defending bird.

I can’t seem to find the Falcon in this photo, but I circled a defending bird.

He wasn’t in these trees long, and took off toward the forest along the Black River.  Here are the photos I caught of him in flight.

Falcon 1

Here you see him being chased by the smaller birds.

Here you see him being chased by the smaller birds.

We will definitely be trying to capture a better image of him in days to come. 

As always at LifeInLorain, click on any image to enlarge.

Comments are closed.