We Start the Year With Snow 1-1-2014 Lorain Ohio USA


by Mark E. Schrull

1/1/2014 Lorain, Ohio USA – Happy New Year, Everyone!  We started the year with snow here in Lorain County, Ohio.  It started snowing early yesterday evening and continued through the morning.  Between last night and today I’d say we got about 5 to 6 inches.  It didn’t take long for the birds to arrive looking for breakfast.

bird feeder 4cr

There must be some seed in this snow pile some where!

bird feeder 5cr

Seeing their efforts, I thought how cold it must be digging in that snow for food, so out  I went to knock the snow off the feeder and filled it with a variety of seed.
bird 1cr

Ah, much better!

My wonderful, loving, thoughtful wife bought me a new camera for Christmas this year.  Now I will be posting most pictures on LifeInLorain with a Nikon Coolpix L320.

camera

I have been trying it out and getting used to it since Christmas.  The bird feeder pictures above are taken through a picture window and the new camera picks up the haze of the window glass.  Also, the window needs cleaning and it’s just been too cold lately to spray the outside with glass cleaner.

Below are some shots I took outside since getting the camera,  getting accustom to the controls and seeing what it can do.  It has a much better zoom then my old camera, with an optical zoom that reaches much further and then a digital zoom which takes over after that.

A Pine Tree 1cr

Beneath the pines. (above)

bluebird house 1cr

A Bluebird House. (above)

bird on pole

A Lake Gull on a utility pole. (above and below)

seagull 1cr

The L320’s zoom capabilities. (above)

Yes, it can zoom wonderfully! And this taken without a tripod.  I love this new camera, and it should help me post better pictures here at LifeInLorain.

I wish everyone a Happy New Year.  May 2014 be a great year for you, filled with health and happiness!

3 responses to “We Start the Year With Snow 1-1-2014 Lorain Ohio USA

  1. And Happy New Year and an early Happy Birthday to Rhonda.

  2. Your pictures have always been very good but now it will be a lot more fun with all the extra options and opportunities. Beautiful snow, but you can have it. We don’t like for it to get much below 50 here in Alabama!